Founded in 1908, FINA is the governing body of aquatic sports. FINA stands for Federation Internationale de Natation, which is French for International Swimming Federation. The headquarters for the organization is located in Lausanne, Switzerland. FINA’s motto is “Water is Our World.” The International Olympic Committee recognizes FINA as the organization for administering the rules and regulations for international aquatic competitions. FINA governs five aquatic sports: swimming, diving, synchronized swimming, water polo, and open water swimming.

FINA has a president who serves a four-year term; the president oversees the meetings of the Congress. FINA has two types of congress, General and Technical, that meets every four years before the World Championships. The General Congress is FINA’s highest authority. The Technical Congress decides on technical issues. If issues arise between meetings, a smaller board, the FINA Bureau meets to act on important matters. FINA also has committees who oversee individual sports, like the Technical Diving Committee, and specific topics such as the FINA Doping Panel.

FINA has rules and regulations for all aspects of the five aquatic sports. FINA has set the standards for pool size for international competitions, types of swimsuits acceptable for competition, qualifying times for Olympic swimming competitions, scoring of competitions, and many other aspects of aquatic sports. If it has to do with swimming, open water swimming, diving, water polo, or synchronized swimming, then FINA has a rule. FINA has rules about doping and acceptable medications for use, rules about general conduct of coaches and athletes, and rules about who is eligible for competition. To make sure its swimmers qualify for international competitions, especially the Olympics, nations adhere to the rules and regulations established by FINA, and some nations use FINA’s rules as their own.

In addition to rules and regulations, FINA also organizes one championship that includes all five aquatic events and championships and circuits for each of the five aquatic sports. The FINA World Championships are held every two years and has competitions in all of the five aquatic events. Individual championships include the World Swimming Championships, the Water Polo World Leagues, Diving World Series, World Open Water Swimming Championships, and Synchronized Swimming World Trophy. FINA has annual events such as the World Cups and the Grand Prix.

For over a century, FINA has established the rules and regulations that govern swimming, diving, water polo, synchronized swimming, and open water swimming. With their rules accepted and approved by the International Olympic Committee, FINA has created standards so all races are fair for all competitors around the world.